Amsterdam Travel Blog
more options
Arriving On:
Guests:
Nights:
Currency
 
more booking options

Archive for the 'Amsterdam Museums' Category

The Maritime museum

Saturday, July 21st, 2012

Het Scheepvaartmuseum, the National Maritime Museum, shows how the Dutch culture has been shaped by the sea. Stimulating, interactive exhibitions allow visitors to explore 500 years of maritime history. Attractive object exhibitions show the best of our world famous collection. We have special exhibitions for children, including See you in the Golden Age and The tale of the whale. We even have one for children under the age of 6: Sal & Lori and Circus at Sea. And last but not least: the exciting ride Voyage at Sea is suitable for all ages and the famous replica of the VOC ship Amsterdam is back at the quay. Het Scheepvaartmuseum has been completely renovated, but still exudes history and is a beautifully imposing and impressive building in the heart of Amsterdam.

Het Scheepvaartmuseum welcomes visitors from all over the world. A day ticket gives you access to our beautiful and inspiring exhibitions and the opportunity to learn about the fascinating maritime history. We also have various museum facilities that are open to the public free of charge, including the Central Square, the Open Courtyard, the museum shop Het Pakhuys, Restaurant Stalpaert, the library and the waterside patio. Perfect for a stroll, a delicious meal or a nice cup of coffee or tea while enjoying the museum’s ambiance.

 opening hours

  • The museum and the museum shop are open 7 days a week from 9 am to 5 pm.
  • The restaurant and patio are open 7 days a week from 9 am to 5 pm.
  • The library is open Monday to Saturday from 9.30 am to 5 pm.
  • Het Scheepvaartmuseum is closed on Queen’s Day (30 April), Christmas Day (25 December) and New Year’s Day (1 January). The library is also closed on 24, 26 and 31 December.

 ticket prices

  • 15.00 euros | adults (18 and up)
  • 12.00 euros | groups: min. 15 p. (reservation required)
  • 7.50 euros | children 5-17 years, seniors (65 and older), holders of Stadspas, CJP (Culture Youth Pass)
  • free | children 0-4 years, Museumkaart (National Museum Pass), I amsterdam City Card, Rembrandt Society, ICOM

how to get there?

Het Scheepvaartmuseum is approximately a 15 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station. To reach the museum you can cross the Prins Hendrikkade or take the route passed the Amsterdam Public Library. The museum is also easy to reach by public transport. Bus 22 (Indische buurt) and bus 48 (Borneo Eiland) depart from the Nicolaaskerk, the church at your left when leaving the main hall/main exit of Amsterdam Central Station. Both buses stop close to the museum at Kadijksplein.

More information you will find on the website of the maritime museum

Van Gogh Museum

Tuesday, July 17th, 2012

vangoghA visit to the Van Gogh Museum is a unique experience. The museum contains the largest collection of paintings by Vincent van Gogh in the world. It provides the opportunity to keep track of the artist’s developments, or compare his paintings to works by other artists from the 19th century in the collection. The museum also holds an extensive offer of exhibitions on various subjects from 19th-century art history.

Read more at the Van Gogh Museum

The Amsterdam Tulip Museum

Thursday, July 5th, 2012

tulipmuseum1.jpg In this museum you will learn about the story of the world’s most dangerous flower, whose beauty drove Sultans, the wealthy and the common man alike to madness and bankruptcy.

Founded in 2004, the Amsterdam Tulip Museum seeks to fill a void in the history of the tulip. Amsterdam has no comparable institution dedicated to telling Holland’s fascinating horticultural story. Located in the Jordaan district, the museum offers a special reward for anyone interested in gardening, or simply sightseeing in Amsterdam. The exhibits include several interactive video displays that trace the tulip bulb from its ancient wild origins to modern 21st century cultivation.

Amsterdam Tulip Museum
Prinsengracht 112
1015 EA Amsterdam
Netherlands
Open Tuesday through Sunday 10 AM to 6 PM.
Telephone +31 (0)20 421 00 95
Fax +31 (0)20 421 34 04

Eastindiaman Amsterdam

Tuesday, June 12th, 2012

Eastindiaman Amsterdam

 

VOC ships like the Amsterdam sailed to the Far East. The outward journey took around eight months, the return voyage one month less. From 1602 to 1795, 1461 East Indiamen made 4800 voyages. Less than 4 per cent (192) were lost at sea.

The original Amsterdam sailed up the North Sea in 1749. In a raging storm the rudder snapped. The master decided to beach the brand-new ship on the south coast of England. Thus he hoped to save the people on board, the cargo and the vessel.

But the East Indiaman soon sank into the mud, never to be freed again. The wreck has provided archaeologists with valuable information about the construction of VOC ships, their cargoes and life on board.

The Amsterdam, a VOC ship from 1990

In 1985, almost 200 years after the demise of the Verenigde Oostindische Compagnie, the keel was laid for a new East Indiaman. The original example was largely copied during construction. But modern standards also created differences: the hull and decks are made of tropical wood instead of oak, there is standing room between the decks, the spars are glued and stairs replace ladders. More than 400 volunteers worked on this new Amsterdam, which has been berthed at the Maritime Museum since 1991.

On the outward voyage, half the hold was filled with food and drink for around 240 men for eight months. On the return journey, the hold was filled with cargo and victuals for only around 70 men.

Cargo on the outward journey

On their way to Asia, the East Indiamen carried bricks and guns for the various VOC settlements and strongholds. And, of course, food, drink and clothes for the sailors and VOC soldiers on board. Plus pots and pans and tools. Silver and gold coins and bullion were brought along for the purchase of Asian goods.

Return cargo

Products from all over Asia filled the hold. Tin, pepper and other spices, fabrics, tea and china were stowed in such a way that they could withstand the voyage to the Netherlands without breakage or rot.

Bread room

The bread room was iron-plated to keep the supply of hardtack and cheese safe from vermin.

read more on the maritime musuem

Museum of Photography Amsterdam

Tuesday, June 5th, 2012

Foam (Photography Amsterdam) enables people all over the world to experience and enjoy photography, whether it’s at our museum in Amsterdam, on the website, via our internationally distributed magazine or in our Editions department.

Foam is for photographers, picture editors, designers and all those who have a passion for photography. We focus especially on exhibitions, publications, discussions and specific projects relevant to contemporary themes in this field. Of course, well known photographers and historical work has an important place on our agenda. But special attention in our exhibition programme and elsewhere is also given to nurturing upcoming artists.

The heart of the Foam organisation is in Amsterdam. From here we develop and produce our exhibitions programme. We manage print publications like Foam Magazine as well as all online content. Foam Editions also has its home here, offering a wide range of work for collectors.

Essential to Foam is our extensive international network of photography professionals and partners. They help to plan and develop new projects, ensuring that the largest audience possible can experience the power of photography.

Read more about FOAM and the current expo’s on their site.

The Rembrand house

Thursday, May 31st, 2012

Rembrandt lived between 1639 and 1658 is  a house  in Amsterdam which is now a museum: Museum het Rembrandthuis or the Rembrandt House Museum.

The building was constructed in 1606 and 1607 in what was then known as the Sint Anthonisbreestraat. The street did not come to be called the Jodenbreestraat until later. The house was built on two lots in the eastern part of the city. Many rich merchants and artists settled in this new part of town. The house can clearly be seen on a bird’s eye view map dating from 1625  It is a substantial two-storey dwelling house with a stepped gable. In about 1627-28 the house was drastically remodelled. It was given a new façade, a triangular corniced pediment—the height of modernity at the time—and another storey was added. The reconstruction was probably overseen by Jacob van Campen, who was later to make his name as the architect of Amsterdam Town Hall (now the Palace in Dam Square).

Exhibitions

The house on itself is an exhibition but offers a beautiful collection of work as well.

History of the collection

Queen Wilhelmina officially opened the Rembrandt House Museum on 10 June 1911. At the suggestion of the painter Jan Veth, one of the members of the museum’s first board of governors, it had been decided to assemble a collection of Rembrandt’s etchings, which, it was felt, could hardly be better displayed than in the house in which most of them were made. Veth himself laid the foundations for the collection with the temporary loan of the etchings in the Lebret-Veth collection that were of sufficient quality. The first gifts were not long in coming.The first gift of an etching came from Paul Warburg in New York: a fine early impression of St. Jerome beside a pollard willow.

In the same year the artist Jozef Israels gave the new museum six etchings including Abraham’s sacrifice from the famous English collection of William Esdaile. An honorary member of the board of governors, P. Hartsen, deserves a special mention. His generous donations, having helped make the purchase of the house possible in the first place, then continued to add to the buying fund. The Rijksmuseum donated eleven etchings, duplicates from its print room, which have been in the Rembrandt House ever since.

The Museum of Bags and Purses

Saturday, May 26th, 2012

Yep! I thought, lets start introducing you to something completely different than the daily museums in Amsterdam. I will cover some of the more odd ones for you during the next months. 😉

The Museum of Bags and Purses is a unique museum that shows the history of the Western bag from the 16th century to the present day. The collection offers a fascinating insight into the development of the bag through the centuries in its function, shape, material and decoration.

The museum is housed in a magnificent building dating from 1664 on the Herengracht in the centre of Amsterdam. In this building one can admire two period rooms with painted ceilings and chimney pieces dating from the 17th and 18th century.

The museum shop offers a wide range of bags by Dutch and international designers. The shop also has an extensive assortment of cards, books and gift items.

The stylish museum café is situated at the rear of the building, overlooking the historical museum garden.

The museum is open every day from 10.00-17.00 hours.

here’s a link to the museum for you

 

Rembrandt Laughing still to be seen until 20 july

Tuesday, July 8th, 2008

From 7 June – 29 June 20 july 2008 you will have the opportunity to see a recent discovered work of Rembrandt in the Rembandthouse in Amsterdam

In October 2007 a painting of a laughing man came to light, and there was speculation that it might be by Rembrandt.

It has now been established on a range of technical and stylistic grounds that this is an authentic early work by Rembrandt dating from around 1628.

This painting will be on show in the Rembrandt House from 7 June until 29 June. It is being presented to the public, together with a small number of related works and extensive documentation, in Rembrandt’s former studio.

Although this little painting was feted as a new discovery, its existence was already known of thanks to a reproductive print dating from around 1800. The printmaker believed that it was a painting by Frans Hals, but in the early twentieth century several art historians became convinced that the print was produced after a work by Rembrandt. This view, however, went virtually unnoticed by the art world.

When the painting surfaced at an English sale in 2007, some people recognized it as an authentic Rembrandt. In the ensuing months it was subjected to an exhaustive examination by the Rembrandt Research Project in association with a British laboratory. It has now been established on a range of technical and stylistic grounds that this is an authentic early work by Rembrandt dating from around 1628.

During the early part of his career Rembrandt studied the various emotions (‘affects’) of human beings as they were expressed in the face and in the posture. The painting is an exceptional expression of this interest. A number of striking similarities between this work and Rembrandt’s early self-portrait of around 1629 in Nuremberg leaves it in no doubt that this little picture must have been painted in front of a mirror. Hence the title that has been chosen: Rembrandt Laughing.

Read more on current exhibitions and events in Amsterdam on the Amsterdam Agenda